Reply-All Group Messaging
  • 19 Jul 2022
  • 1 Minute to read
  • PDF

Reply-All Group Messaging

  • PDF

Reply-All Group Messaging allows a user to create a conversation where the users and all mobile contacts added as recipients, can read and respond to each other in the same conversation thread. This allows everyone in the conversation to see each other's replies and respond back to the group. 

NOTE: Group Messaging differentiates from Multi-Recipient Messaging, as Group Messaging creates a single conversation for all parties involved while Multi-Recipient Messaging creates individual conversations for each mobile contact.

Creating a Group Message

To create a Group Message, head over to the Conversations page and select the "Create New" button. Within that button select "Group Message", this will bring up a Group Message modal. From here you must select an outbound line*, up to 9 mobile contacts, a group name (optional), and craft the message you'd like to send. While a single conversation is being created, you will be charged for the number of outbound texts sent to each mobile contact within the conversation.

*Only Group Messaging enabled lines will be available on the outbound line selection.

Group Conversations

After the initial group text message has been created, a conversation will be created and can be accessed from the conversations page. From here you'll be able to see all the participants in the conversation, which mobile contact is responding to the message, and a time stamp for each messaged sent or received. All features from standard 1 on 1 messaging can be applied to Group Messaging.

Handling Opt Out/Opt in Requirements

Mobile contacts must have the option to opt out/opt in from text messages, including those participating in a Replay-All Group Message. A mobile contact can opt out of a Reply-All Group Message and will be sent the Opt Out message you have configured in your system. Additionally, they will no longer receive any messages from your outbound line. Please not that we are unable to prevent mobile contacts from text messaging each other after they have opted out.

Click on our article for more information on Managing Opt Out/Ins to learn more.